Women's golf clothes & equipment > Tradition runs deep at the Masters golf tournament

Tradition runs deep at the Masters golf tournament

The Masters golf tournament is steeped in tradition. Held at Augusta National Golf Club each year in April, it is a well-established tournament and regular stop for qualifiers on the PGA tour. The first Masters tournament was held in 1934, after golf enthusiasts Bobby Jones and Clifford Roberts decided to promote and encourage golf by sponsoring a tournament.

The home of the Masters golf tournament, the Augusta National Golf Club, has been the source of controversy particularly among female golfers. The club continues to exclude women as members, keeping them from joining an exclusive list that includes past member Dwight Eisenhower.

Other traditions the Masters tournament and the Augusta National Golf Club hold to are those that began in the first years of the tournament and still are honored today, such as 4 days of 18 holes each (the custom at the time was to play 36 holes of golf on the third day); the elimination of qualifying rounds; and limiting commercialization of the tournament.

Over the more than 70 years the Masters tournament has existed, golf legends, including Arnold Palmer, Jack Nicklaus and Tom Watson, have left their mark on the tournament and taken home its legendary green jacket. Nicklaus tops the win list with 6 Masters tournament wins while Palmer and Tiger Woods each have four. Nicklaus, Woods and Nick Faldo are the only golfers to experience back-to-back wins at the Masters golf tournament. As the Masters tournament continues, more of the best golfers in the world will undoubtedly be added to this list of Masters champions.

Related articles:

Working Golf Specific Exercises Into Your Fitness Routine
3 Simple Golf Practice Steps To An Effective Golf Game
Simple Explanation On Swing Plane
Golf Carts Why Walk When You Can Ride?
Golf tips
Avoiding back pain while golfing

Add to Delicious Bookmark this at Del.icio.us